List of diagnostic and analytical laboratory specializations

The following list describes the principal areas in
which the Member States could designate
laboratories in areas such as toxicology, microbiology, and analytical chemistry. The designated laboratories should have
adequate biosafety levels, containment,
physical security and associated procedures to safeguard the dangerous pathogens
and highly toxic chemicals likely to be involved in an investigation. In addition, the designated laboratories should have
some or all of the following capabilities relevant to analyses on
samples from an investigation.

1. Identification, in all the types of sample, of known chemical warfare agents, as well as their impurities and their degradation productions (and evaluation of quantities).
2. Identification and elucidation, in all the types of sample, of the structure of toxic agents, including those present in trace quantities (and evaluation of quantities).
3. Identification and characterization, in different kinds of samples, including clinical and environmental samples, of biological
warfare agents (bacteria, viruses, others) and/or toxins.
4. Identification and characterization, in different kinds of samples, including clinical and environmental samples, of biological
agents (bacteria, viruses, others) and/or toxins.
5. Evaluation of the effects of biological warfare agents and toxins, including epidemiological and ecological modeling.
6. Pathological and biochemical examination of organs and tissue taken from victims of CBT weapons, and where possible identification of the agent concerned.
7. Expertise in investigation and diagnosis of animal or plant diseases, which may include toxicology, pathology, microbiology, and epidemiology.
8. Examination and evaluation of munitions, munition components, and other military delivery devices, including all their
technical specifications; analysis of explosives.